Sunday, 4 May 2014

Arnold: Symphony No 5

The broodingly lyrical second movement (Andante con moto, Adagio) of Malcolm Arnold's 5th Symphony (1961) - an unjustly neglected work, described by one critic as "a study in disintegration". The second movement's main theme reappears in the finale to devastating effect ... music for our times ...

The London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Richard Hickox

No comments:

Post a Comment

Anonymous comments will not be published